Elverson is a borough, under the Commonwealth’s system of municipal classifications. It is governed by a Mayor and a 7-person Borough Council whose members are elected for 4-year, staggered terms. Elverson is managed and administered by the Borough Council and assisted by a Borough Secretary/Treasurer who is appointed by Council, and by an elected constable. The constable works on an as-needed basis and the Secretary/Treasurer works 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Monday through Thursday on behalf of the Borough.

The Borough Council is also assisted and advised by several volunteer boards, commissions and committees, whose members it appoints. Some of these are: The Planning Commission, Zoning Hearing Board, Municipal Authority, Historical Commission, Buildings & Grounds Committee, Parks & Recreation Committee, Communications Committee, Streets & Lights Committee, Neighborhood Watch Committee, Recycling & Solid Waste Committee and Emergency Coordinator.

The Borough also receives paid professional assistance, primarily from its solicitor, code enforcement officer, and engineer, each of whom it retains on an annual basis.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email